Why Gluten-Free Foods Aren’t Only for Celiacs

126

Once upon a time, our nutrition was dictated by our surroundings and the seasons, and although it was difficult, we lived and sometimes thrived on this way of life. Nowadays, it seems as if our diets are increasingly influenced by the zeitgeist, with fad diet fads spawned by both real studies and skewed preconceptions. As a result, many people are still skeptical of the gluten-free diets that have been fashionable in recent years.

Gluten-free meals, and notably gluten-free bread, first had a terrible name. This occurred owing to the first availability of gluten-free options and their inherent differences from gluten-containing alternatives. That has changed in recent years, and an increasing number of families are considering if introducing their family to a gluten-free diet, even if just partly, could be good.

Consider the following benefits of gluten-free meals for individuals who are not gluten sensitive (celiacs).

Gluten: What Is It?

Gluten is a kind of protein present in barley, rye, triticale, and several varieties of wheat:

● Durum

● Einkorn

● Emmer

● Farina

● Farro

● Graham

● Khorasan wheat

● Wheatberries

● etc.

Gluten aids in the preservation of food’s form and may function as a glue that holds various meals together. Nowadays, it is used in a wide variety of foods, most notably processed foods, where wheat is utilized as a filler and gluten is exploited for its adhesive properties.

What is it made of?

Gluten may be present in a wide variety of foods, and understanding where it can be found might assist you in locating gluten-free items. Gluten is frequently present in the following foods:

● Beer

● Bread and baked goods

● Brewer’s yeast

● Cereals

● Food coloring

● Frozen foods

● Malt and all malt derivatives

● Pasta

● Roux

● Rye bread or beer

● Salad dressings

● Sauces

● Soup

Is gluten harmful?

Gluten is not inherently harmful to your health unless you have celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Indeed, the presence of gluten is often accompanied by the presence of other vitamins and minerals that are essential for our body’s activities. Therefore, although completely gluten-free lives may seem appealing unless you have a sensitivity to gluten or celiac disease, you should aim to include some healthy gluten items into your diet.

Having said that, you probably do not need gluten in every product you purchase, and hence choosing gluten-free versions of select items might be prudent.

Avoiding Extraneous Gluten

As previously stated, there are several items available that do not need gluten. Burger patties are one example of this since they often include some quantity of wheat as filler or adhesive. By choosing gluten-free burger patties, you may get a sufficient quantity of gluten from your Wholemeal buns without increasing your carbohydrate intake.

Here are some other foods that do not need gluten.

Soup Conveniently packaged in cans and sachets, soup has been a go-to dish for many families worldwide. Gluten is a sort of thickening found in the majority of soups, particularly creamier ones. While this gives the soup a more authentic texture, it adds little nutritious benefit and should thus be avoided.

Frozen foods

Gluten is omnipresent in the frozen food aisle, whether as a thickening, a texture, or a glue and haunts individuals who live gluten-free diets, who deserve the convenience as well. The majority of frozen food items include gluten only for convenience, since comparable goods may be made without it. By choosing gluten-free frozen food options, you may enjoy the same convenience of meal prep without the added additives.

Dressings for Salad

When you stop to think about it, it’s odd that the majority of salad dressings include gluten for one reason or another. Gluten is added to salad dressings to provide flavor, as in Asian salads using soy sauce, or to act as a thickening in creamier sauces. While it occurs often in trace levels, it is still entirely unneeded and easily avoided by seeking the Gluten-Free (GF) label.

Various additional types of food include gluten needlessly, and eliminating them may provide you with peace of mind. While the presence of gluten is not always harmful, it may often be deleted or substituted without compromising your health.