A Detailed Guide On The UPSC Exam

A Detailed Guide On The UPSC Exam

After passing school, many of you are worried about your future. You think of developing a secured career. To have a secured career, one of the best jobs that one can aspire for is the UPSC civil service exam. The Indian civil service is one of the toughest exams that one can appear for. But, even if it is challenging, it can be achieved by following the correct strategy.

However, not many IAS aspirants are aware of the right strategy to conquer the civil service exam. For this, various IAS coaching in Delhi has come up. You can join to gather the right policy of studying, the standard study materials, and appear for test series to check your capacity. However, before you enter any IAS coaching center in Delhi, a brief guide denotes how one should approach the IAS exam.

What is the UPSC exam?

UPSC or the Union Public Service Commission is a pioneer recruiting agency of India in which the public servants for different posts in the central government are recruited. This recruitment is done based on the UPSC or the IAS exam that is held in three stages, namely:

Stage 1: Prelims

Stage 2: Mains

Stage 3: Personality test or interview

The Preliminary exam in the UPSC consists of two objective-type papers with multiple choice questions – General studies and Civil Service Aptitude Test (CSAT). Each of the papers consists of 200 marks. Further, the UPSC Mains exam consists of 9 papers constituting 2000 marks. In the UPSC Mains, the exam questions demand essay-type answers. Finally, in the personality test or interview round, the interview carries 275 marks for each candidate. Here, the questions are asked based on the candidate’s whereabouts.

The recruitment policy for the All India Administrative Civil Service began in the year 1858. It was then known as the Imperial Civil Service or ICS. According to hierarchy, the IAS is considered one of the highest administrative posts among all the 24 central services such as IPS, IFS, etc.

The IAS exam is conducted every year by the central recruiting agency known as the Union Public Service Commission or UPSC. It can be termed one of the most prestigious services among all the central government services in India.

Highlights of the IAS exam

Every year, the UPSC conducts the civil service exam to recruit eligible people for more than 20 services like the IAS, IFS, and IPS. More than eight lakh candidates register to appear for the IAS exam every year, and around five lakhs of them appear for the exam.

For selecting these candidates, three rounds of tests are held, which each candidate has to pass to acquire an executive position in the central government of India. The whole process of the exam takes more than a year, and the preparation starts in June and ends in April in the following year. Finally, the CSE releases the final merit list in May.

Given below is a table that highlights the critical points of the civil service exam:

Exam levelNational
Organizing bodyUnion Public Service Commission
Exam typePen and paper
Number of services24
Number of attempts6
Number of vacancies70 (approx.)
Admit cardOnline
Expected registrationMore than 8 lakhs

How to download the IAS application form?

To appear for the IAS exam, each candidate has to fill in an application form. Generally, this application form is activated for the use of the candidate from March. Candidates who meet all the eligibility criteria of the Commission can register in the IAS exam in the following way:

Step 1: First, visit the official website of the UPSC. (www.upsc.gov.in)

Step 2: Then, click on the ‘apply online’ option.

Step 3: Next, click on ‘online application for various examinations.’

Step 4: Look for the civil service (preliminary) exam.

Step 5: Next, start the IAS registration with Part I.

Step 6: In the application form, fill in the particulars as has been asked for.

Step 7: Make the required payment.

Step 8: Choose the respective exam center that is convenient for you to travel to.

Step 9: Upload the sign, photo, and identity card.

Step 10: Accept the declaration.

Step 11: Finally, check the complete details and click on ‘submit.’

Step 12: For future reference, take a printout of the application form.

Eligibility criteria for the IAS exam

To sit for the IAS exam, every candidate has to abide by the following criteria concerning nationality in the following ways:

  1. The candidate must be a citizen of India.
  2. The candidate must be a person of Indian origin who has migrated from the following countries intending to settle in India – Kenya, Ethiopia, Myanmar, Malawi, Pakistan, Tanzania, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, Uganda, Zaira, or Zambia.
  3. The candidate must be a subject of Bhutan or a citizen of Nepal.
  4. The candidate must be a Tibetan refugee who came and settled in India before January 1, 1962.

Educational qualifications

For appearing for the IAS exam, a candidate has to fulfill the following criteria:

  1. The candidate must acquire a bachelor’s degree from a recognized university.
  2. The candidates waiting for their exam results to come out and who have not yet received the result are eligible to appear for the IAS exam. However, such candidates have to produce their passing certificate during the IAS Mains.
  3. The candidates who possess professional and technical qualifications recognized by the government or its equivalent are eligible for the IAS exam.
  4. The candidates who have passed the final year of MBBS or any other equivalent medical exam and are yet to complete their internship can appear for the UPSC Mains at ease. However, these candidates have to submit the certificate from the concerned university that states that they have passed the final stage of the concerned medical examination.


Therefore, to appear for the UPSC exam, each candidate has to abide by the eligibility criteria that have been mentioned above. Also, the candidates have to be consistent and sincere in their preparation to crack the UPSC exam.